Did you see my lover?

Did you see my lover
on the hill, on the hill
Did you see my lover
on the hill today?
Did you see my lover
on the hill, on the hill
Did you see my lover
When the Lord took him away?

Did you see my lover
As he stood, as he stood
Did you see my lover
As he stood today?
Did you see my lover
As he stood, as he stood
Did you see my lover
Under skies of darkest grey?

Did you see my lover
With the crowds, with the crowds
Did you see my lover
With the crowds today?
Did you see my lover
With crowds, with the crowds
Did you see my lover
As he turned to them to say?

“I stand here before you
But a man, but a man
I stand here before you
But a man today
I stand here before you
But a man, but a man
I stand here before you
With a debt I must repay”

Did you see me lover
As he fell, as he fell
Did you see my lover
As he fell today?
Did you see my lover
As he fell, as he fell
Did you see my lover
As the hangman had his way?

Published in: on March 11, 2009 at 3:56 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://eclecticchair.wordpress.com/2009/03/11/did-you-see-my-lover/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I like your lines so much


Leave a Reply

